RSS Feed

Stinging Nettle Experiment: Green Goddess Nettle Tea

The stinging nettle I collected the other day was divided into two piles. The first half was for my tea experiment and the second was hung in the rafters to dry in preparation for an infusion project at a later date. (Wise Woman Susun Weed is a great proponent of infusions. She recommends taking one cup of dried herb, filling a quart jar with boiling water and letting the infusion sit over night. According to Weed, the resulting infusion is incredibly nourishing to the body, being high in vitamins and minerals.) After the nettle is done drying in the garage, I will use Weed’s method to make an infusion with it. But first, I wanted to use the fresh plant to make some tea.

IMG2946

The above photo shows the amount of fresh plant I used to make the tea. This was more or less half of the entire amount I’d foraged.

IMG2947

In order to strip the stinging leaves from the stalks, I donned my gloves again. I carefully separated the leaves and then placed them back in the bowl. I boiled 32 ounces of water, placed the plucked leaves in the pot, and then removed from heat.

IMG2948

The tea was left to steep for 20 minutes before I strained the leaves from the liquid. The resulting tea was a lovely green color, with an earthy taste. All palates are different, of course, but I found the tea to be very mild and devoid of bitterness. It was a nice change from the usually strong teas I normally drink, and I decided to call it “Green Goddess Nettle Tea” after its vibrant color and earthy taste.

IMG2950

2 responses »

  1. It’s a little early in the year for nettle tea here in the UK, but I must admit I agree with you, it really is quite nice isn’t it. Not what you’d expect. I drink it all through the hayfever season and it really does help! Great post.

    Reply
  2. Thanks for reading Susie! I think the large amount of nettle I’m seeing while out and about is due to the rain we had here a few weeks ago. I’m hoping for a bit more rain before we begin our long summer season here in Southern California.
    I have a friend from the UK who remembers her father making a nettle soup for her when she was growing up. Are you familiar with a with any recipes for nettle soup?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

