RSS Feed

Cooking for Lou: Pureed Yellow Squash

Since my daughter was born, one of the things I’ve been most excited about is cooking for her. On the advice of our pediatrician, we are slowly introducing her to vegetables, spending four to seven days tasting them one at a time. Her first vegetable was yellow squash, which we grew here at home in the garden. (The poor squash were doing well until the earwigs found them. Now I’m lucky to get one out of four squash that hasn’t been munched.) On Lou’s first vegetable day, I was happy to find two squash that were untouched by insects and ready to be eaten.

I diced each squash into half moons, then placed them in boiling water for a few minutes to soften. Using a slotted spoon, I removed the squash pieces from the water and placed them in the Baby Bullet* food processor with 1/4 cup of water. (You could also use a blender or regular food processor.)

It was a simple process and also very gratifying to feed my girl food I had grown myself. She seemed to enjoy the new taste. It was exciting to watch. Little does she know how many meals Mama already has planned for her.

*I am not endorsing the Baby Bullet over any other product, it just happens to be the one I’m using.

Leave a Reply

