RSS Feed

Pickled Green Tomatoes

Here is a useful recipe for all those end-of-season green tomatoes hanging around the garden. I am waiting two weeks before tasting these pickled green tomatoes, so I will let you know how they turn out.

To make your own pickled green tomatoes, quarter enough tomatoes to fit inside a glass jar of your choosing.

Add one sliced hot pepper with seeds.

Then add one tablespoon each of salt and peppercorns, four sliced cloves of garlic (I also added a few garlic scapes because I needed to use them up), and three or four sprigs of dill. Fill the jar with white vinegar and place in the refrigerator for two weeks before tasting. Can’t wait to see how these turn out!

2 responses »

  1. my Mom used to make jars of these, as in hundreds. One year we had a a tomato plant that was alien invasion invasive. Everyone received pickled green tomatoes for Christmas that year, including our teachers!

    Reply
  2. Hi Nancy, it was my first time making them, so I’m excited to taste the results. I don’t know if the rest of my tomatoes will have time to turn ripe before the season is over, so I might be making even more.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

