RSS Feed

Homemade Herbs de Provence

Purchasing a pre-made Herbs de Provence blend can be expensive, so I decided to make my own. The flavorful herbal mixture is often used to season meat and fish dishes, and in stews. Historically, Herbs de Provence is a combination of rosemary, savory, marjoram, thyme, and sometimes lavender. While mine is not a “traditional” blend, I did whip up a tasty and aromatic concoction from the herbs growing in my garden (free! and organic!) For this batch I used savory, basil, thyme, and oregano.

A week prior, I snipped the herbs from their containers and hung them to dry in the garage. My drying method is pretty basic: bunch the herbs together, wrap the bunch with a piece of twine, and hang it on a nail from the rafter beams. When they were ready, I stripped the dried leaves from the stems one herb at a time. Then I combined the herbs together in bowl with my fingers. After they were incorporated, I placed my Herbs de Provence in a glass jar and sealed it up. So far I’ve used it on baked chicken, with great results.

Thyme

Savory

Basil

Oregano

Marrying the herbs together

The final, flavorful product

Leave a Reply

