RSS Feed

Reusable shopping bag as planter

As an experiment (and because I’m trying desperately to avoid buying more plant containers) I copied something I’d seen on the internet: using a reusable shopping bag as a planter.

My mother-in-law gave me a little bag from Whole Foods with gifts inside for Christmas. It wasn’t quite big enough to take with me grocery shopping, but I knew it would come in handy someday, so I kept it for a rainy day.

Following some instructions I’ve read in various places on the internet, I took the bag and cut several small holes in the bottom.

You can’t see the holes very well in the photo, but I snipped about 10 of them, trying to space them out as well as I could.

I filled the bag with a mix of soil and compost and planted some Rainbow Chard I purchased last week.

It’s not the best looking planter, but seemed to do the trick so far. We’ll see how well the bag holds up through watering, sun exposure, etc. I’ll update in the future on how well it works.

Leave a Reply

